Our Board

Eva Skira


Non-Executive Chair – Eva Skira joined the Board as a Non-executive Director in September 2011 and was appointed Chair on 27 June 2019. Ms Skira has a background in banking, capital markets, stockbroking and financial markets, previously holding executive positions at the Commonwealth Bank and later with stockbroker Barclays de Zoete Wedd. Subsequently, she has served on a number of boards in business, government and the not-for-profit sectors across a range of industries.

Ms Skira is currently the Chair of the Trustees of St John of God Health Care Inc and a Non-executive Director for The WA Parks Foundation, the Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) and Western Power. As a Director, Ms Skira has chaired a number of Audit, Compliance and Risk Committees.

Ms Skira was recognised in the 2019 Australia Day Honours list and awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for business.

Ms Skira is currently the Chair of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Board's Audit & Risk Committee and Remuneration Committee.

Michael Finnegan

Michael Finnegan

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer – Mr Finnegan holds a Bachelor of Science (Mining) with 24 years’ experience in the mining industry. The last 15 years have primarily been spent in senior line management positions. Mr Finnegan has a strong commercial and technical background and has spent time in operations on the east and west coast of Australia as well as a number of countries throughout Asia.

Mr Finnegan is a member of the Tender Review Committee.

Alex Ramlie

Alex Ramlie

Non-Executive Director – Mr Ramlie joined the Macmahon Board in August 2017 and is also a Director of AMNT. Prior to joining AMNT, Alex was the President Director and Chief Executive Officer of PT Borneo Lumbung Energi & Metal Tbk which operates a hard coking coal mine in Tuhup, Central Kalimantan.

Between 2012 and 2015, Alex was also a Director of LSE-listed Bumi PLC, a Vice-President Commissioner/ Vice-Chairman of IDX-listed PT Berau Coal Energy Tbk and its subsidiary, PT Berau Coal, and held Commissioner positions in IDX-listed PT Bumi Resources Tbk, PT Kaltim Prima Coal, and PT Arutmin Indonesia.

Alex started his career as an investment banker at Lazard Frères & Co.

Mr Ramlie is currently a member of the Nomination Committee.

Arief Sidarto

Arief Sidarto

Non-Executive Director – Mr Sidarto joined the Macmahon Board in August 2017 and is also a Director of AMNT. His qualifications include an MBA from Harvard Business School and two bachelor degrees with summa cum laude from The Wharton School of Finance and The Engineering School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Prior to joining AMNT in April 2017, Mr Sidarto held the position of Managing Director and Member of the Board of PT Rajawali Corpora (RC). He was also Managing Partner of Samuel Group from 2009 to 2015 and Managing Director of Wellspring Capital Partners from 2010 to 2014.

Mr Sidarto was previously with Goldman Sachs New York in 1991 in its Structured Finance Division; before relocating to Hong Kong and then Singapore to run investment banking and corporate finance as Chief Operating Officer.

Mr Sidarto is currently a member of the Nomination Committee.

Vyril Vella

Vyril Vella 

Independent Non-Executive Director – Mr Vella re-joined the Macmahon Board on 29 June 2019. He was previously a Non-Executive Director of Macmahon for more than 10 years until October 2018. Mr Vella is therefore uniquely placed to ensure that Macmahon has the benefit of another Independent Non-Executive Director with significant long-term background on the business while further independent board appointments are made.

In addition to his experience with Macmahon, Mr Vella has over 40 years’ experience in the civil engineering, building, property and construction industries. During Mr Vella’s 34 years with the Leighton Group (now CIMIC) he held various positions including General Manager NSW, Director of Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd (now CPB Contractors), Managing Director of Leighton Properties and Associate Director of Leighton Holdings.

Mr Vella is currently the Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee, the Chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Nomination Committee.

Bruce Munro

Bruce Munro 

Independent Non-Executive Director – Mr Munro joined the Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director in October 2019.

Mr Munro has a strong management and operational background; and considerable experience in dealing with matters pertaining to the mining industry. Mr Munro has more than 40 years’ experience as an engineer and manager with major construction and mining contractors in a number of countries including Australia, Asia, India and southern Africa. From 2011 until his retirement in 2015 Mr Munro was the Managing Director of Thiess Pty Ltd, which during this period had approximately 20,000 employees and annual revenues up to approximately A$7 billion. He has been involved as a contractor in the development and/or operation of numerous mines for clients such as BHP, Glencore, Rio Tinto, BP, Peabody, Bumi Resources, Inco, Wesfarmers, Vale and Fortescue. Whilst Mr Munro held the role of CEO, Thiess was mining in excess of approximately 50 million tonnes per annum of coal.

Mr Munro was recently a Non-Executive Director of Australian Pacific Coal Ltd since May 2017.

Mr Munro is an Honours graduate from the University of New South Wales School of Civil Engineering and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia. Mr Munro was a previous Non-Executive Director of then ASX listed Sedgman Ltd. During his career, he served as a Director on a number of industry bodies, international business councils and diversity groups.

Mr Munro is the Chair of the Tender Review Committee, a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and a member of the Nomination Committee.

Hamish Tyrwhitt

Hamish Tyrwhitt  

Independent Non-Executive Director – Mr Tyrwhitt joined the Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director in October 2019.

Mr Tyrwhitt has three decades of senior leadership experience in the global engineering and construction sectors. Mr Tyrwhitt was the Group CEO of Dubai Financial Market (DFM)-listed construction firm Arabtec Holdings from 2016 to 2019. In addition to his position as CEO of Arabtec Holding, he also held the position of Group CEO of Nasdaq Dubai-listed, interior solutions firm Depa Group, from 2016 to 2019.

Mr Tyrwhitt has served on the board as an Executive Director of Depa Limited; as a Non-Executive Director of Design Studio Group Limited, a Singapore based subsidiary of Depa Group listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange; and as a Non-Executive Director of Jordan Wood Industries PSC, a listed Jordanian company which manufactures office and household furniture.

Previous to his roles at Depa Group and Arabtec Holdings, he held the position of CEO at Asia Resource Minerals Plc, an Indonesian coal mining company listed in London.

Previous to this, Mr Tyrwhitt worked for more than 25 years with Leighton Group, now CIMIC, where he served as Group CEO from 2011 to 2014. From 2007 to 2011, Mr Tyrwhitt oversaw Leighton's Asian operations as the Managing Director for Leighton Asia, from the Leighton's Asian headquarters in Hong Kong.

Mr Tyrwhitt is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia, a member of the Hong Kong Institute of Engineers and a member of the College of Civil Engineers, Australia.

Mr Tyrwhitt is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee, Remuneration Committee, Nomination Committee and Tender Review Committee. 


Keep in touch

Stay up to date with our latest news and announcements.